Sports Roundup – 24th December 2016


India Wins 5th Test Match By A Massive Margin: India won their final encounter by an innings and 75 runs at Chennai. Batting first, England notched up 477 in 157.2 overs due to Moeen Ali’s 146 and some good contributions by Joe Root (88), Liam Dawson (66) and Adil Rashid (60). India declared their first innings at 759-7 due to massive scores from KL Rahul (199) and Karun Nair’s 303. Karun became the 2nd Indian player after Virender Sehwag to achieve the milestone. This is also the highest maiden Test Century by an Indian. During England’s second innings they managed a paltry 207 in 88 overs as Jadeja snapped up 7-48. Virat Kohli was the Man of the Series while Karun Nair picked up the Man of the Match.

Hansraj Morarji Enters The Finals Of Harris Shield: Hansraj Morarji Public School (Andheri) fought their way to clinch victory, defeating Al-Barkaat MMI English School (Kurla) on the first innings lead and thus earned a place in the finals of the Harris Shield Elite Division this year. After finishing off with 69-7 on the previous day, Al-Barkaat score 119 in 48.3 overs. Ayush Sharma scalped 4-39 and was supported by left arm spinner Aaryan Sen who picked 3 wickets. During their second innings, Hansraj Morarji posted 113 in 58.4 overs, a few less than their 129 during their first innings. Arya Jadhav top scored with the bat for the Andheri outfit with 31, while on the other hand off spinner Meer Rizvi of Al-Barkaat snapped up 3-20 in his 18 overs spell. The Kurla team started their second innings with great confidence while Hansraj Morarji kept fighting till the very last ball. Swapnil Chavan and skipper Faiz Rathod scored 33 each, but the turning point in this contest was Hansraj Morarji gaining the wicket of Faiz as he was caught by Aaryan Sen. They ended up with 117-6 in the given 14 overs. Hansraj Morarji sailed into the finals where they will now face defending champions Rizvi Springfield (Bandra).



India Clinches Junior Hockey World Cup Title: Indian hockey is on the rise as the Junior National Team beat Belgium 2-1 in the Junior Hockey World Cup final in Lucknow. Gurjant Singh and Simranjeet Singh scored the goals for Team India.


Atletico De Kolkata Crowned Champions In ISL: Atletico de Kolkata went onto defeat Kerala Blasters FC 4-3 on penalties and won the Indian Super League for the second time. Originally the match ended with both teams being 1-1 which eventually led to the penalty shootout between both rivals.



Mary Kom And Vikas Krishnan Honoured With Aiba Awards: MC Mary Kom received the AIBA legends award while former Asian Games Champion Vikas Krishnan was awarded the AIBA Pro Boxing Best Boxer trophy at the International Boxing Federation’s 70th anniversary.

Leave a Reply