DPCG’s ‘Summer Sports Festival-2017’

The recently organized ‘Summer Sports Festival-2017’ by Dadar Parsee Colony Gymkhana (DPCG), comprised multiple sports including cricket, football and athletics, and was sponsored by WZO Trust Funds, Sterling and Wilson Electricals, Mejmt and Nariman Sports.

‘Floodlit Athletics’ held from 28th to 30th April, 2017, saw 350 athletes participate from across Mumbai and Surat. The BPP (Bombay Parsi Punchayet, Byculla) team clinched maximum awards including Minoo Tarapore Memorial for Inter-Club Team Championship; Aran Motivala’s Women’s Team Championship; Jehangir Gimi’s Men’s Team Championship. BPP’s Zarastyn Mistry won the Women’s Individual Championship while team-mate Rusi Karanjia shared the Men’s Individual Championship with Rayomand Irani from DPCG. Age-based Individual Championships were won by Pearlin Debara and Parzaan Bharucha (Suburban Zoroastrian Athletes Andheri); Hushad Bacha and Kaiwan Avari (Surat Parsi Boys Orphanage); Rehan Navdar (Sir C J Colony Recreation Centre, Tardeo); Arzaan Panthaky (DPCG, Dadar); Minaish Rustomji (Cusrow Baug United Sports and Welfare League, Colaba) and Khushnaz Deboo, Tanya Vakil and Sherry Farog (BPP).

‘Floodlit Box Cricket Tournament’, hosted for the first time by DPCG, was held from 4th to 13th May, 2017 with over 24 teams. The inaugural tournament was won by Malcolm Baug ‘A’, who beat runners-up, Gamadia Hostel.

21st May 2017, witnessed the finals of ‘Floodlit Rink Football’, with 4 teams in the Under-14 years category and 20 teams in the men’s category. The Under-14 finals were played between Cusrow baug and DPCG, with the latter, coached by Farhad Dhunjisha, emerging victorious with a total of 6-2, while Zarayus Anklesaria of DPCG was declared ‘Player of the Tournament’. The Men’s finals, witnessed two veteran teams, Rustom Baug and Cusrow Baug, battling it out on the field, with Team Cusrow Baug scoring within the last two minutes, thus grabbing the title. The ‘Player of the Tournament’ was awarded to Porus Shroff from Cusrow Baug, while Yohan Malao of DPCG was declared the ‘Upcoming Player of the Tournament’.


Leave a Reply