Sports Roundup – 11th November 2017


India Wins 3rd T20 Against New Zealand And Clinch Series: Splendid bowling performances from Jasprit Bumrah (2-9), Kuldeep Yadav (1-10), and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (1-18) along with Yuzvendra Chahal who gave away just 8 runs in his 2 overs spell helped India win a thriller by 6 runs in a match that was reduced to 8 overs a side due to rain. Batting first India notched up 67-5 in 8 overs as Manish Pandey top scored with 17. For the Kiwis, Tim Southee and Ish Sodhi were the pick of the bowlers scalping 2 wickets each. In reply the visitors found it difficult to chase down the total as they finished off with 61-6 in their 8 overs as only Colin de Grandhomme remained unbeaten on 17. Jasprit Bumrah was awarded the Man of the Match and Man of the Series. With this India won the T20 series 2-1.


Mary Kom Wins Gold: MC Mary Kom won her fifth gold medal at the Asian Women’s Boxing Championship as she beat her opponent Kim Hyang Mi of North Korea 5-0. This is Mary Kom’s first international gold medal since the 2014 Asian Games.



Saina Nehwal Wins Badminton National Championship Title: Indian shuttler Saina Nehwal overpowered her opponent PV Sindhu in straight sets 21-17, 27-25 and won the women’s singles final of the the senior Badminton National Championship.


HS PRANNOY DEFEATS KIDAMBI SRIKANTH: HS Prannoy proved to be too strong this time around for opponent Kidambi Srikanth as he emerged victorious in a thrilling final clash, beating Srikanth 21-15, 16-21, 21-7 which lasted for 49 minutes. With this victory Prannoy won the men’s singles title at the senior Badminton National Championship.



India Win Women’s Asia Cup 2017: Navjot Kaur scored the lone goal for India in the 25th minute. While China found a late equaliser as Tiantian Luo converted a penalty corner in the 47th minute. After scores were locked 1-1 in regulation time the game went into a thrilling shootout where India clinched a 5-4 victory over China and thus won the Women’s Asia Cup 2017 and also qualified for the Hockey World Cup next year.

Leave a Reply