DPCG Organises All-Parsis Cricket Tourney

DPCG organised the ‘All Parsee Cricket Tournament 2018’ in the memory of Late Hosie Amroliwalla, former Indian Ranji Trophy cricketer and two times winner of the Jasdanwala Trophy for scoring the fastest century in the H D Kanga league.

This year, 24 teams participated for the tournament, with ZCA (Zoroastrian Cricket Academy) and CJ (Cowasjee Jehangir Colony Recreation Center) reaching the finals. ZCA beat CJ by 7 wickets, with Rohin Patel end the game with a magnificent six, when the team needed 3 runs to win of the final delivery. Having won the tournament seven times in the past, this year ZCA dedicated their win to late Mac Spencer – an ardent cricket fan and representative of Parsi Cyclists in the Kanga League, who recently passed away.

The event also witnessed Cyrus Patel being adjudged ‘Player of the Final’ for scoring 103 runs. The post-match presentation was chaired by Chief Guests and children of late Hosie Amroliwalla, Rashna and Khushroo Amroliwalla. It concluded with a show of gratitude to the Summer Sports Chief, Farokh Tamboly and General Secretary, Daraius Mehta for their efforts in making the event a success.

Leave a Reply