Parsee Gym Retain Talyarkhan Title

Brilliant batting performances from Suryakumar Yadav (59 off 41), skipper Aditya Tare (51 off 35), coupled with an exceptional all-round show from Shubham Ranjane (34 off 17) with the bat and (2-34) with the ball, helped Parsee Gymkhana win a nail-biting match by three runs against MCA Colts – thus retaining their title and winning the finals of the RFS Talyarkhan Memorial Cricket Tournament, on 3rd February, 2019, at Bombay Gymkhana.
Batting first, PG notched up a mammoth 179-7 in 20 overs. Losing two early wickets did not deter their spirit as Surya and Aditya held the team together, with the former smashing five fours and three sixes, while the latter hit nine boundaries. Both swashbuckling batsmen stitched a 111 runs partnership giving PG the upper momentum. PG’s guest player, all-rounder Shubham struck some mighty blows to add his own finishing touch to PG’s innings, with four boundaries and a six. MCA Colts medium pacers’, Royston Dias and Krutik Hangawadi, snapped up four and three wickets, respectively.

In reply, MCA Colts’ openers – Jay Bista and Eknath Kerkar scored 29 and 21. Shubham ran out the in-form batsman, Hardik Tamore who scored a vital 50. Experienced bowlers, Aavishkar Salvi and Balwinder Singh Sandhu Jr., bowled their magic. Finally, needing just five to win in the last ball, Balwinder’s bowling ensured that PG won a thrilling contest as the opposition batsmen only managed a single before ending with 176-7. During the latter part of the contest skipper Aditya Tare exhibited quick thinking and sharp skills to run out Chinmay Sutar (34) and Tanush Kotian, giving PG the edge over Colts. Shams Mulani and Balwinder also grabbed one wicket each.

Speaking to Parsi Times post the victory, Vice President and Cricket Secretary of PG, Khodadad Yazdegardi said, “It’s a great feeling winning this championship. This year, all the top Mumbai Cricketers were playing and the standard was very good. I thank our President, Mehli Golvala, Managing Committee and Cricket Sub-Committee members, support staff and Coach Vinayak Mane. Lastly, a special mention to our team sponsor, Chairman and MD of Spenta Group of companies, Aspan Cooper, for his support without which it would not have been possible to achieve success.”

Coach Vinayak Mane added, “It was a great last over finish and it feels wonderful that the team showed character under pressure situations. Credit to all the boys as they worked hard and contributed well.”

‘Player of the Tournament’, Shubham Ranjane, told us “Everyone in this team was so welcoming. It’s a proud feeling to represent PG. I’m glad to be a part of this bunch of talented cricketers and would love to play for my new family – Team PG in the future.” Suryakumar Yadav won the ‘Best Batsman’ title while Balwinder Singh Sandhu Jr. was adjudged ‘Best Bowler’. Skipper Aditya Tare concluded with, “I’m proud of the way we played as a team. All our games have gone down to the wire and we rose and won from tough situations. Our team would like to dedicate the trophy to Vinayak Mane and Khodadad sir for all their continuous efforts.”

Leave a Reply