Verethragna Bahram Yazata – Giver of Success & Victory

On 9th September, 2022, thousands of devotees came out of their homes to bid farewell to their favourite deity, Ganpati or Ganesha. The hugely celebrated ten-day-long Ganeshotsav has concluded, but the usual sentiment of ‘Ganpati Bappa Morya, Pudhchya Varshi Lvkar Ya’, meaning ‘O Lord Ganpati, come again early next year!’ continues to linger.

Lord Ganesha is not only worshiped by Hindus, but by Buddhists too. In Buddhism, Ganesha is referred to as Vinayaka (Master / Leader) and is worshiped in countries like Tibet, China, and Japan. His wisdom, knowledge, and ideologies are revered by devotees all over the world.

As Parsi Zoroastrians, we are worshippers of Ahura Mazda, the Lord of Wisdom, and in that same spirit of wisdom, we bow with respect and reverence to all that Ganesha embodies in terms of wisdom and removing obstacles!

Remover Of Obstacles: Lord Ganesha is invoked before commencing anything significant and it is for this reason that he is called the ‘Lord of Beginnings’. He is also known as Vighnaharta or remover of obstacles. The concept of Vighnaharta or remover of obstacles resonates with the Zoroastrian concept of Verethragna or victorious (in overcoming difficulties, foes or enemies).

Eight Forms Of Ganesha: Ganesha has eight forms having different attributes. All eight forms symbolize certain abstract qualities:

  1. ‘Vakratunda’ is the first form of Lord Ganesha, meaning the twisted trunk. The purpose of this incarnation was to destroy the demon named Matsaryasura, which symbolically represents envy in humans. Hence, this form celebrates Ganesha’s triumph over envy. The mount of this form is a lion.
  2. ‘Ekadanta’ means single tusk. This form was born to kill the demon Madasura who represents intemperance among humans due to power and other vices. Ekadanta was born to triumph over intoxication emanating from power and pelf in humans. The mount of this form is a mouse.
  3. ‘Mahodara’ symbolizes a big belly. This incarnation killed the demon of delusion known as Mohasura. This form is also known to destroy ignorance and negative thoughts. The mount of this form is also a mouse.
  4. ‘Gajanana’ means the elephant-faced. This form is said to have slain the demon of greed. The mount of this form too, is a mouse.
  5. ‘Lambodara’ means potbellied and in this form, Ganesha destroyed Krodha or the demon of anger. The mount of this form is also a mouse.
  6. ‘Vikata’ means unusual shaped. The purpose of this form of Ganesha was to destroy the demon of lust. The mount of this form is a peacock.
  7. ‘Vighnaraja’ incarnation of Ganesha destroyed Mama or the demon of ego. Vighnaraja means the remover of all obstacles. His mount is a serpent named Sesha.
  8. ‘Dhumravarna’ means smoke coloured. The purpose of this form was to overcome the demon of arrogance, Abhimanasura. The mount of this form is a mouse.


Ten Forms Of Verethragna Bahram Yazata: 

What Vighnaharta Ganesha is to devout Hindus, Verethragna Bahram Yazata is to devout Zoroastrians.

The Bahram Yasht enumerates ten forms in which the divinity (Bahram Yazata) appears: As a swift wind, as an armed warrior and as an adolescent youth. In the remaining seven form he appears as a bull with horns of gold, a white horse with ears and a muzzle of gold, a camel, a boar, a bird of prey, a ram and a wild goat.

These forms are symbolic attributes of our own Bahram Yazata, who can be swift and cleansing as the wind, powerful and valiant as a warrior, energetic like a youth, strong as a bull etc. It is said that Verethragna Bahram Yazata comes to the aid of a devotee in any one or more of these ten forms and removes obstacles.

Giver Of Victory And Success:

Just like GaneshaBahram Yazad presides over success, victory and triumph, over external foes, as also over internal weaknesses and vices. Both bestow courage and confidence to persons embarking on any new journey or initiative.

Also like GaneshaBahram Yazata is known by his appellations e.g. FattehmandFiruzgar and Dushman Zadaar which mean victorious and destroyer of enemies. The name Bahram comes from the Avestan term Verethraghna which means success or victory. Avestan Verethraghna is similar to the Sanskrit term Shatrughna or destroyer of enemies.

Just as Ganesha is Vighna-harta or destroyer of obstacles, so is Bahram Yazata Dushman Zadaar. 

Bahram Yazad is also invoked as Baeshazem or healer.

Finally, just as Ganesh or Ganesha is a very popular name among Indian boys, Bahram is a very popular name among Iranian boys. During the Sasanian Empire, there were at least five emperors with the name Bahram.

Bahram Yasht

Bahram Yasht is a very potent prayer comprising twenty-two karda and many devout Zoroastrians pray it regularly. It is believed to be particularly effective if prayed every day for forty days, (preferably at the same time and same place). Many have experienced mitigation of their troubles or finding new solutions to their problems.

The prayer begins with the following salutation and invocation:

Verethraghnem ahura-dhaatem yazamaide. Peresat zarathushtro ahurem mazdam, ahura mazda mainyo spenishta daatare gaethanaam astvaitinām ashaa­­um, ko asti mainyavanaam yazatanaam zyotemo?Aat mraot ahuro mazdaao, verethraghno ahuradhaato, spitama Zarathushtra … vohu khvareno mazda-dhaatem, barat khareno mazdadhaatem baeshazem uta amemcha.”

Translated: “We venerate Bahram Yazad created by Ahura. Zarathushtra asked Ahura Mazda, “Oh Ahura Mazda spirit most beneficent, creator of the material world. O holy one! Who is the best helper in times of trouble, among spiritual Yazata? Then Ahura Mazda replied, Victorious Bahram Yazata, created by me, Oh Spitama Zarathushtra, who gives higher energy, divine energy, health and courage to those who remember him.”



Leave a Reply