Spartans Emerge Champions At CBPL 2023

The Cusrow Baug Premier League (CBPL) 2023 unfolded with captivating moments and unexpected twists, culminating in the triumph of the Spartans as the champions. The auction saw over 90 participants being bid for across four teams, playing football, volleyball, sepak and throwball. The tourney commenced on 18th November, 2023, with a tribute to volleyball legend, Dr. Behram Baria.

The first day witnessed Volleyball action with all four teams engaged intensely. While Warriors and Spartans emerged front-runners, securing two wins each, the Spartans claimed the final victory, with 10 points. Day 2 belonged to the Football League where Warriors brandished a 3-0 victory over Chargers, and Spartans dominated Giants with a 3-0 win. Both teams topped the league table with 3 points.

The Giants secured the Sepak victory on the third day, as Giants and Spartans earning their spots in the finals. The Giants clinched the Sepak Champions title with a direct 2-game triumph, solidifying their position as the team to beat in CBPL 2023. Day 4 unfolded with thrilling encounters between the Chargers and Spartans, ending in a 1-1 draw, and the Warriors and Giants, resulting in a 3-1 victory for the Giants. The day also featured fun family-oriented activities.

The Chargers emerged the undisputed champs of the Throwball tourney on 23rd November, securing victory in a thrilling decider against the Warriors. On the final league day of the Football tournament, Chargers secured a decisive 1-0 victory against Giants, while the Warriors defeated Spartans with a 1-0 win.

The last day of CBPL – the grand finale, on 25th November, saw the Spartans crowned as the overall champions, beating Warriors in a thrilling finish comprising a dramatic penalty shootout with Spartans’ goalkeeper Ushaine Gandhi’s exceptional saves securing a 3-1 victory, catapulting Spartans as Football champions as well as overall champions of CBPL 2023. The best players of the tournament were Ushaine Gandhi (Volleyball); Hushad Khan (Sepak); Roshni Dadachanji (Throwball) and Yohan Malao (Football).

Thus concluded the successful CBPL 2023, which was organized by the Cusrow Baug United Sports and Welfare League and sponsored by Sony Sports Network. Mayank Dayal from Sony Sports Network, honoured outstanding teams and players for their notable achievements. Special thanks were extended to Percy Lentin and Star Gaze Events for their contributions and to Parsi Times for always supporting events at Cusrow Baug.

Leave a Reply