HPY 2024 Concludes With A Bang!

Avan Navdar

HPY (Holiday Programme for Youth) celebrated the conclusion of its 37th edition with a grand Valedictory Function on 2nd June, 2024, at the Byramjee Jeejeebhoy Parsi Charitable Institute Hall. The hall was packed with an electric atmosphere as 105 participants, their loved ones, and the dynamic Team HPY came together to bid adieu to yet another of HPY’s fabulous annual summer program. Dr. Cyres Mehta – the nation’s leading ophthalmologist, globally renowned for his pathbreaking achievements in the field of advanced eye-care – presided as Chief Guest, along with his lovely wife, Vinifer Mehta.

HPY Coordinator – Ayesha Mehta warmly welcomed the audience, highlighting the profound impact of its visionary mentor of 37 years – Diana Marfatia. Er. Kerman Fatakia offered prayers and blessings for an auspicious start of the event. Diana Marfatia took the stage amidst much applause, going on to share the journey and the achievements of the past month, showcasing HPY’s remarkable success in shaping the lives of young students, its services and community outreach.

HPY’s mentor and driving force, Diana Marfatia, shared, “We have played a sizeable role in grooming about 7000 of our community youth over the past 37 years – a truly gratifying feeling indeed! This (current) batch of 105 youth have been really involved, committed and energetic… the weeks seem to have flown by, yet the quantum of what we all have learnt and gained will stay with us for years to come. Today, we can most definitely say that Confidence has replaced anxiety, knowledge has replaced ignorance, and most importantly, strangers have become good friends… For the benefit of my young friends here who are going to step out into the world now, I’d like to say in conclusion: Obstacles don’t have to stop you… if you run into a wall, don’t turn around and give up – figure out how to climb it, go through it, or work around it.”

In addition to the learning and the camaraderie, the HPY participants, divided into 4 groups – Enactors, Performers, Achievers and Creators – had also collected an impressive 194 bottles of blood during the Annual Blood Donation Drive, benefiting St. George Hospital and Tata Memorial Hospital. They even visited Old Age Homes and Ahura Support, and collaborated with Safai Bank of India for a Waste Collection drive.

Floral tributes were presented as felicitation to dignitaries at the dais – Chief Guest Dr. Cyres and Vinifer Mehta, Er. Kerman Fatakia, BPP Chairman Viraf Mehta, BPP Trustees – Anahita Desai, Hoshang Jal and Maharukh Noble. Appreciation was extended to Bakhtawar Dastur, Rony Patel, Kashmira Sarkari, and Daisy Zohrabi for their invaluable support.

Ayesha Mehta elaborated on HPY’s main verticals (Performing Arts, Literary Arts, Sports, and Social Service) and the 15 events conducted over 28 days. Participant Ariana Mehta shared insightful experiences. In the eagerly anticipated prize distribution ceremony, Team Performers emerged the Winning Group. Yohan Fatakia was crowned Mr. HPY 2024 and Ariana Mehta was crowned Ms. HPY 2024, with Xerxes Billimoria and Shanaya Saklatwalla being awarded Mr. and Ms. HPY Runners-Up titles, respectively.

Diana Marfatia was felicitated by Chief Guest Dr. Cyres Mehta, to a thunderous applause for her complete devotion to HPY for nearly four decades. HPY’s organizers were also felicitated for their hard work and dedication. BPP Chairman Viraf Mehta emphasized the importance of being Parsi and encouraged the youth to seize opportunities. BPP Trustee Anahita Desai commended Diana Marfatia’s unwavering dedication with a token of gratitude.

In his inspiring speech, Chief Guest Dr. Cyres Mehta shared valuable life lessons and advice with the young participants. He spoke about the importance of proper planning and unwavering commitment to achieve true success. “It is very important to have an idea as to where you see yourself in the next 5 years, 10 years and 25 years. You should know what you want out of life and then work hard and persist to achieve that,” he concluded, receiving a standing ovation for his motivational speech.

Dr. Cyres Mehta also felicitated HPY organisers – Ayesha Mehta, Sanaya Mehta, Zehaan Tafti, Deanna Elavia, Ushaine Gandhi, Airyaman Master, Sohrab Mehta, Michelle Crawford, Priyanka Master, Zeus Sirvala, Kaiwan Dalal, Rayan Raimalwalla, Zavish Velati and Arzan Panthaky

Leave a Reply