Parsee Gymkhana Clinches 5th Successive Title At Mumbai District TT Tourney

By Hoshang Katrak, PG Captain & Manager
In a record of sorts, Parsee Gymkhana’s (PG) Men’s and Women’s teams clinched their fifth successive titles, at the recently concluded (26 – 29 June, 2024) Mumbai City District Table-Tennis Tournament, held at the National Sports Club of India (NSCI).

Slotted in the premier First Division, due to their champions line-up (comprising former international and Commonwealth player Siddhesh Pande, Zubin Taraporewalla and Parthiv Kelkar in Men’s; and Gujarat No.1 Frenaz Chipia and Manasi Chiplunkar in Women’s), PG’s Women’s team steamrolled their opponents – Garware Club ‘A’ and PJ Hindu Gymkhana’s ‘A’ and ‘B’ teams, with ease.

In the men’s section, PG was scheduled to play its toughest match on Day 1 itself. Parthiv Kelkar came up against Hindu Gymkhana’s Parth Magar. Hindu Gym took the lead when Magar trounced Kelkar in 3 straight games. Siddhesh equalised for PG by, beating Mandar Chiplunkar 3-0. Zubin put PG ahead by blanking Saurabh Mohite by an identical margin. In reverse singles, Siddhesh clinched the issue for PG by getting the better of Parth.

There were no such hiccups in other matches against Garware Club, NSCI and Central YMCA. Excellent playing facilities in NSCI and perfect organising and arrangements for 43 teams across all Divisions by the MCDTTA (Mumbai City District Table-Tennis Association) Committee, and scheduling by Chief Referee Gaurav Phansalkar were commendable.

PG has been placed in the First Division right from its entry in this prominent tournament. Kudos to the Managing Committee, led by President Mehli Golvala, for all the support and encouragement!

PG Men’s Team: Siddhesh Pande, Zubin Taraporewalla, Hoshang Katrak, Parthiv Kelkar, Mayuresh Kelkar
PG Women’s Team: Frenaz Chipia, Manasi Chiplunkar, Sampada Bhivandkar, Shreya Deshpande

Leave a Reply