BJBSL’s All-Parsis Rink Football Tourney

The Bai Jerbai Baug Sports League (BJBSL) organised All-Parsis Rink Football from 12th November to 2nd December, 2018, at the Bai Jerbai Baug Grounds, witnessing good participation with a total of 43 teams across the Ladies, Under-14, Under-19 and Men’s category. Through the previous three weeks building up to the finals, the grounds witnessed gripping matches played with enthusiasm and sportsmanship that concluded with a prize distribution ceremony on 2nd December, 2018, chaired by Chief Guest Plamaz Ferzandi; Guest of Honour, Physiotherapist, and a World Rugby Medical Educator, Vahbiz Bharucha; and BPP Trustee, Viraf Mehta. The Ladies category witnessed a tough competition between Khareghat Colony and Dadar Parsee Colony, with the latter winning the finals, while the Under-14 category witnessed Dadar Parsee Colony lifting the trophy against finalist BJBSL. The Under-19 category witnessed Navroz Baug as the Runner’s Up, while BJBSL were adjudged winners. The nerve clinching Men’s finals saw Rustom Baug grabbing the title, with Dadar Parsee Colony in close second.

Other winners included Hormuz Bana – Best player of the Tournament (Men); Zarastyn Mistry – Best player of the Tournament (Ladies); Shazen Elavia – Best player of the Tournament (Boys U-19); Rushad Engineer – Best Player of the Tournament (Boys U-14) and Nauzer Dubash – Most Consistent Outstanding Performance. The event concluded with a vote of thanks to the donors, Plamaz Ferzandi of Farma Cross Pvt. Ltd., Dinshaw Tamboly and the World Zoroastrian Organization Trust, Viraf Mehta, Hoshang Jal and BPP, for supporting the League in organising the tournament as well as its members, residents and all involved in making the tourney a success.

Leave a Reply