2nd All-Parsi Volleyball / Throwball Tourney In Pune

Bringing the heat of competitiveness to Pune’s chilly winter morning, the second chapter of the All-Parsi Volleyball/ Throwball Tournament was held on 21st January, 2024, at the Poona Parsee Gymkhana. Sponsored by Yohan Poonawalla, and co-organised by Poona Zarthosti Seva Mandal (PZSM), Zoroastrian Youth Association (ZYA) and Zoroastrian Sports Committee (ZSC), the tournament comprised 90 charged-up participants, across 10 Volleyball and 3 Throwball teams.

Drawing a crowd of over 160 excited onlookers including family and friends, the teams (and their leaders) included the ‘MAVERICKS’ (Cyrus Malegamwala); ‘CHALLENGERS’ (Rayomand Khambatta); ‘LIVE WIRES’ (Percy Ankleshwaria); ‘ROCKING BAWAS’ (Ardaviraf Sinor); ‘PARSEPOLIS’ (Mehrdad Namiranian); ‘LEGENDS’ (Vispi Karkaria); ‘ZYA’ (Mediomah Engineer); ‘TFG’ (Pehzaan Sarfabadi); ‘IRANIANS’ (Rayomond Amalsad); and ‘J N PETIT’ (Mozzam Namdrin). The girls’ Throwball were ‘ZYA-A’ (Behnaz Nanavatti); ‘ZYA-B’ (Rudabeh Jokhi); and ‘PUNE ZOROASTRIANS’ (Parmida Mavalwala).

Cyrus Malegamwala -Chairperson, Zoroastrian Sports Committee flagged off the tournament at 8:15 am, with excellent arrangements made by Zoroastrian Youth Association (Mabrin Nanavatti, Farah Khambatta, Arzan Khambatta, Framroze Taraporewalla, Behnaz Nanavatti and Vispi Karkaria). The volleyball play-offs, lasting till afternoon, received much cheer from the crowd who feasted on snacks and lunch by Farheez Irani and The Food Gallery, respectively. Post-lunch was time for the girl’s throwball matches, the volleyball semi-finals and finals.

Finally, it was Team ‘ZYA – A’ who lifted the girl’s Throwball (Runners-up – Pune Zoroastrians) trophy, while Team Parsepolis emerged winners in the Volleyball Tourney (Runners-up – Team Mavericks), in the prize distribution ceremony that followed, where winning teams were awarded Rolling Trophies, medals and cash prizes. Individual awards were presented to Varaj Pardiwala – the ‘Most Valuable Player’; Veezan Avari – ‘Emerging Young Player’ (J N Petit School); 63-year-old Jamshed Karkaria – ‘Oldest Volleyball Player’; 11-year-old Huvarast Pithawala – ‘Youngest Volleyball Player’; Dilzeen Naegamvala – ‘Youngest Throwball Player’ and Rudabeh Jokhi – ‘Oldest Throwball Player’.

And thus concluded the 2nd All-Parsi Volleyball/ Throwball Tournament in Pune, amid much zeal, josh and Parsipanu. The brainchild of Mabrin Nanavatti – Jt. Honorary Secretary, PZSM, the tourney’s first chapter received a great response last year. “We decided to make this a yearly event with the support of PZSM, ZYA and ZSC. We are hoping for a bigger response next year,” she said, extending gratitude to co-organizing committees.

Courtesy: Zoish Motiwalla

Leave a Reply