VCCCI Holds 3-Day Extravaganza Kerfegar Eduljee

Kerfegar Eduljee

For over a decade, Motorcycle Connoisseur and PT’s Expert Columnist, Kerfegar Eduljee, has been one of the foremost names in the Motorcycle and Two-Wheeler Circuit. A judge by special invitation at the prestigious, annual Vintage and Classic Car Club of India (VCCCI) event for the Motorcycle and Two-Wheeler Segment, Kerfegar has been honoured with numerous felicitations, including by the VCCCI.

The much anticipated, 3-day Vintage and Classic Automobile extravaganza, organized annually by the Vintage & Classic Car Club of India (VCCCI), was held from 26th to 28th January, 2024, at South Mumbai’s World Trade Centre. Established in 1985, VCCCI is one of the oldest and foremost vintage and classic car clubs of India.

Over 170 breath-taking two and four-wheeled beauties participated in the event. Not surprisingly, the turnout was large, with an attendance comprising aficionados, an enthused public and even about a dozen artists, who had flocked to the event to paint and capture this classic piece of history. The enthusiasts too overcame geographical distances to attend the event – more specifically, a spirited contingent of scooterists representing Pune Scooters’, who rode down all the way from Pune to the SOBO venue!

Continuing the tradition of Parsi participation and victories at this event for years, a number of Parsi/Irani Zoroastrians won awards across multiple categories for their vehicles, including ‘Best Restored’, ‘Best Maintained’, etc. keeping alive and further fortifying the ethos of the famous words, ‘Parsi Owned’!

The following are the awards won by Parsi patrons in the Motorcycle category:

Xereus Zend 1959 BSA Goldstar Best Maintained Classic Motorcycle (1st)
Hormuz Dadachanji 1959 BSA A7 Shooting Star Best Maintained Classic Motorcycle (3rd)
Hormuz Dadachanji 1993 Yamaha RX100 Best Restored Indian Heritage Class (2nd)
Zubin Mehta 1971 Honda CB750 Best Maintained Recent Classic Motorcycle (1st)
Hurvaksh Irani 1981 BMW R100RS Best Maintained Recent Classic Motorcycle (3rd)
Yazad Bacha 1938 Norton Big 4 Best Restored Vintage Motorcycle (2nd)
Jehangir Faroogh 1956 BSA BB31 Best Restored Classic Motorcycle (3rd); &

Most Original Motorcycle Award

Firoz Mistry 1981 BMW R100RS Best Restored Recent Classic Motorcycle (2nd)
Shalaila Nalaseth 1955 BSA Goldstar Judges’ Discretion Award

In the Car category, Yohan Z Poonawalla won multiple awards including the ‘Concours d’Elegance Pranlal Bhogilal Award Vintage Car’ for his 1927 Rolls Royce 20HP; and the ‘Concours d’Elegance Nanji V Dossa Award Classic Car’ for his 1958 Mercedes Benz 190SL. He also snagged wins in the ‘Best Maintained’ and ‘Best Restored’ categories for his cars – 1949 Bentley Mark VI; 1962 Volkswagen Beetle; 1967 Volkswagen Microbus; and the Land Rover Series 1.

The following are the awards won by other Parsi patrons in the Car category:

Vehan Palia 1980 Mercedes Benz Best Maintained Recent Classic Car (2nd)
Shalaila Nalaseth 1955 Dodge Best Maintained Indian Heritage Class (1st)
Cyrus Dhabhar 1964 Fiat Best Maintained Indian Heritage Class (2nd)
Rayomand Patel 1956 Fiat Best Maintained Indian Heritage Class (3rd)
Pilzad Master 1974 Mercedes Benz W115 Most Original Car Award
Sorab Ginwalla 1933 Austin Best Resurrection Award
Xerxes Dastur 1933 Austin Judges’ Special Mention
Erach Kotwal 1970 Triumph Judges’ Special Mention
Jerxis Vandrevalla 1947 Buick Roadmaster Judges’ Special Mention
Shalaila Nalaseth 1955 Dodge Best Ladies Crew Completing The Run Award

This not-to-be-missed event was hugely successful, as always. If you’ve never attended this car and motorcycle extravaganza before or missed it this year, make sure to attend it the next time around – it’ll be a guaranteed treat for your senses!

Leave a Reply