The Jal Pardiwala All-Parsees Athletic Meet – A Runaway Success!

Parzan Nariman (individual entry) and Zenia Jamshedji (Avabai Petit School) won the top spots – Individual Men’s and Women’s championships, respectively, at the 39th Jal D. Pardiwala All Parsees Athletic Meet, which was held on 27th and 28th January, 2024, at the University Stadium, Marine Lines, Mumbai. Over 400 entries (including spot entries) were received for this gala sports meet.

Veteran Cyrus Siganporia was awarded Late Air Marshall Minoo Merwan Engineer Trophy for Lifetime Contribution in Parsi sports. He is famous for teaching hundreds of youngsters, gymnastics, human pyramids, swimming, etc. and has been playing a key role in organizing the Jal Pardiwala Meets for decades, besides providing yeoman service of cleaning Dokhmas and Agiaries.

Huafrid Billimoria was awarded the ‘Best Athlete of the Year’ trophy for her outstanding achievements in sports despite multiple disabilities including dystonia. She is noted for being the first swimmer to cover 17 kms swimming non-stop for 12 hours; for being the fastest in the world to complete a full Ironman; and for being the first Para Tri-athlete to bag an Asian Championship for India.

The Men’s Team Championship was won by Mancherji Edalji Joshi Memorial Trust (81 points) and Women’s Team Championship was won by Bai Avabai Framji Petit Girls High School (134 points). Dynamic Vice President Mahiyar Dastoor read out a message from President Mithoo Jesia, welcoming the dignitaries including BPP Trustees Xerxes Dastur and Hoshang Jal, Principal of Bai Avabai Petit School – Diana Marfatia, Yasmin Charna, Adi Mehta and office bearers of All Parsees Sports Foundation. Nazneen Gowadia graciously hosted the event. Jt. Secretary Darius Zaiwalla gave the vote of thanks expressing gratitude to all sponsors (WZO Trust, BPP, Rustomjee Builders, Shapoorji Pallonji Group, Dadachanji Group, WAPIZ, Zarine & Yazdi Daruvala Charitable Trust, Master Group, Dinshaw & Viraf Mehta and the Zoroastrian Co-operative Bank Ltd.), dignitaries, the Parsi press and all participants and supporters.


Highlights Of Other Results:

Trophy Winner
Youngest Participant Nasha F. Khan (Zoroastrian Colony)
Group Champ Veteran – Men Fareez A. Vasania (Mancherji Edalji Joshi Memorial Trust)
Fastest Girl Athlete Friyona Patel (Bai Avabai Framji Petit Girls High School)
Fastest Boy Athlete Pashaan Z. Irani (Bharucha Baug Youth Association)
Fastest Woman Athlete Ayesha Billimoria (One Track Club)
Fastest Boy Athlete Parzan Nariman
Javelin Throw – Men Vir Bagli (BPP)
Running 3000m & 1500m – Men Taronish Irani (BPP)
Best Athlete Of The Meet Parzan Nariman
Tug Of War Zoroastrian Colony Youth Welfare Association

 In the Individual Championships, the winners included:

GIRLS: Under 6 -Persis Tarapurwala (B A F Petit School): Under 8 – Pearlyn Engineer (BPP); Under 10 – Linn Nikorawala (Behram Baug); Under 12 – Reanna Pavri (CBUSWL); Under 14 – Friyona Patel (B A F Petit School); and Under 16 – Nayomi Sirvala (BPP).

BOYS: Under 6 – Yazoish Porbunderwalla (Nowroze Baug) & Darian Bharucha (Behram Baug); Under 8 – Aryan F. Pithawala (BJPC); Under 10 – Sean Dilawarnijad (BPP); Under 12 – Yohann Dastur (BPP); Under 14 – Zerxes N. Daruvala (MEJMT); Under 16 – Rustom Bhesania (Nowroze Baug); and Under 18 – Pashaan Z. Irani (Bharucha Baug).

Leave a Reply